I have a question about the workflow in the case of merging PRs with backwards compatible overlays. Should the PR author remove the overlays before the PR can be merged? I couldn't find this in the contributing guide.
I seem to recall that the recommended way is to have the overlay PRs merged before the PR is (being retro compatible). If all are merged then the overlay itself could be removed from the main PR before merging. I don't recall this being mandatory, but it results in a CI run that ensures all PR were actually merged, so it seems a nice thing to do. For sure it will spare the assignee the work of going to each PR an say "please merge" ;-)
but it results in a CI run that ensures all PR were actually merged, so it seems a nice thing to do.
My thinking precisely! Thank you Enrico. I guess I'll open a PR with this suggestion to make the discussion more formal.
Last updated: Oct 21 2021 at 22:02 UTC